More brands that get it!

I have previously spoken about hos a little bit of PR can go a long way for your brand or business.   I recently came across two more examples of exactly how to act as a business, and another example of how not to!

PR1

The first is an image of  a young boy who used all of his money to buy a Lego set.  He wanted to take some of it to the shopping centre with him but his dad wisely said no.  He decided not to listen to his father’s advice, and ended up losing his favourite character on the trip.  His dad suggested he wrote to Lego, explaining the situation.

These are the letters:

Luka’s Letter:

Hello.
My name is Luka Apps and I am seven years old.
With all my money I got for Christmas I bought the Ninjago kit of the Ultrasonic Raider. The number is 9449. It is really good.  My Daddy just took me to Sainsburys and told me to leave the people at home but I took them and I lost Jay ZX at the shop as it fell out of my coat.
I am really upset I have lost him. Daddy said to send you a email to see if you will send me another one.
I promise I won’t take him to the shop again if you can.
Luka

Lego’s Response (Richard from Customer Services spoke to Sensei Wu, a master from the Ninjago Line):

Luka, I told Sensei Wu that losing your Jay minifigure was purely an accident and that you would never ever ever let it happen ever again.
He told me to tell you, “Luka, your father seems like a very wise man. You must always protect your Ninjago minifigures like the dragons protect the Weapons of Spinjitzu!
Sensei Wu also told me it was okay if I sent you a new Jay and told me it would be okay if I included something extra for you because anyone that saves their Christmas money to buy the Ultrasonic Raider must be a really big Ninjago fan.
So, I hope you enjoy your Jay minifigure with all his weapons. You will actually have the only Jay minifigure that combines 3 different Jays into one! I am also going to send you a bad guy for him to fight!
Just remember, what Sensei Wu said: keep your minifigures protected like the Weapons of Spinjitzu!
And of course, always listen to your dad.

A demonstration of customer service going the extra mile for their consumer’s when they didn’t have to.  The letter could have been ignored, or a replacement could have simply been sent out, but instead the letter created an extra dimension to the Lego Ninjago World that Luka had already created in his mind.

PR2

Another example comes from receipts in restaurants and cafes.  Receipts can be perosnalised e.g. Table 5, or Richard if it were a regular, to make the job easier and less confusing for staff.  In this first example, a manager at a fast food restaurant discounted a family’s bill, leaving the message “MUM 2 BEE GOOD LUC” to a woman who had come in with her husband and 2 year old son.  This small act, which was only a $11.50 discount, follows the chains values of making sure that every customer leaves feeling appreciated and valued, having had a positive and satisfying experience.

A bad example of how to personalise a receipt comes from Jeff, an employee who accidentally left “Fat Girls” left written on the receipt.  The situation could have been salvaged slightly by management, had they not come out and offered 25% off their total bill, before stating that he might be able to do 50%.

Another brand, who received a lot of publicity from this, is FedEx, who had footage taken on a driveway camera of one of their delivery drivers doing the opposite of handling with care!  The fact someone would think to do this is shocking…

Leave a Reply

